[Archive! - page 246

granit77:
I don't regret it anyway. There's a bet and a chaff and a cherry orchard here. I was in Gander during the Soviet Union, when some stubborn policeman came to me at the transfer point: "Don't you want your freedom, by any chance? Canadian residency permit, allowance, etc.? ? But I was like, "I'd love to, but I can't. You know, I'm flying with the whole family, how can I deprive a child of the joy of meeting his classmates, or leave his mother-in-law without presents? Sorry, brother policeman, next time.
Believe it or not, I barely got away with it :))

That's how it was in the Soviet Union))

granit77:
I don't regret it anyway. There's a bet, a chaff, and a cherry orchard here. When I was a Soviet soldier in Gander, a stubborn policeman came to me and said, 'Don't you want to get your freedom? Canadian residency permit, allowance, etc.? ? But I was like, "I'd love to, but I can't. You know, I'm flying with the whole family, how can I deprive my child of the joy of meeting his classmates, or leave my mother-in-law without presents? Sorry, brother policeman, next time.
Believe it or not, I barely got away with it :))

I lived in communal flats on the Petrograd Side until I was 10. One neighbour was a painter, the other a teacher.

Petrogradskaya Storona is a district . It's like Odessa in the USSR. ))

>

PapaYozh:
Ideologically wrong. We are not in danger of a complete collapse - Kudrin writes letters to Putin from Razliv, who periodically listens to them when he starts to smell something fishy.
What is threatening us is a dull, hopeless hopelessness with oil money-fattened 'managers' and out-of-touch philistines who consider it their happiness that people could not go to Turkey when the USSR was in power and now they can.