What happened to Doe last night? - page 10

Richie >>:

Александр, это юмор такой. Согласитесь, перепутать 16е6 с 16е9 - это полный бздёж, извините за резкость.

And as usual, I said something stupid.
For example, I've transferred code from micro reals to reals several times, and a couple of times I forgot to re-set the volume. One time I got a good loss on it. The difference in volume in such a case may be 100 or 1000 times easily. Maybe even more. I probably should not be a trader at Citigroup :))) Although now I'm a scientist and I control the volumes separately.
I've seen mention of the same cases with other autotraders as well.

gip >>:
Падение было явно ненормальным. И выглядит как технический сбой, поэтому и не стали в панике распродаваться после восстановления. В броко такие падения раз в неделю случаются :)

I thought both ways. If the top Bid had disappeared on, say, a DJ index futures for technical or other reasons, it would have remained in the DIA index stock pick and an arbitrage situation would have occurred, which would not immediately go away and put the prices back into place.

There was clearly something more like a scam here, as the decline was not only in the index, but also in securities both in and out of the index. In other words, everything fell all at once. The bears couldn't have organized such a massive sell-off - they simply wouldn't have had the funds to sell all the Bids at once.

Obvious cheating, either by owners of trading venues, or by those who provide security of their computing equipment.

And the trader who allegedly mixed up the volumes is nonsense. Suppose he mixed up the volumes by 1000 times and the price by 1000 points. Anyway, he will suffer a loss, but the Bid will not suffer much. Only arbitrage traders and only on one instrument could make profit on his error, i.e. the orders would be sold like pies and the spread would collapse.