Technical analysis - A scam for beginners? - page 10

Although I don't have as much experience as Sergei (Farnsworth), and I've been doing technical analysis for only three years (since I learned about FOREX). Nevertheless, I've made some observations (mainly with strategy tester) and believe that TA is not as hopeless as many people think. Here are my main claims:

1. technical analysis has a very limited predictive horizon. It is only realistic to predict the movement a few bars ahead and no more.

2) It does not make sense to make calculation data windows of more than three five figures. Roughly speaking, what was 5-10 or more bars ago is irrelevant to what is happening now.

3. It is important to understand that the so-called TA figures are clearly traceable on anything from an accumulative coin flip chart to temperature dynamics. For example, if a clear five-wave Elliott wave pattern showed up only on markets and never on SB or weather charts, I would be the first to throw stones at those who would claim that Elliott waves don't work. But unfortunately Elliot waves are meaningless as they appear on anything and since they have no meaning, they cannot work. This also applies to all other TA formations like double top, triangle, head-shoulders, etc.

4. Before using a technical indicator, you have to clearly answer yourself the questions: "What exactly this indicator shows?", "What exactly I need to see in the price movement?", "Why exactly this indicator shows price deviations which I need to see?", "In which cases this indicator will give clear signals and in which cases it will be wrong?".