Interesting and Humour - page 1490

interesting.

Vladon:
interesting.
and has been for a long time, 2009

Good morning (and happy holiday)

If carpenters were hired in the same way as programmers

Interviewer: So, do you consider yourself a carpenter?

Carpenter: That's right. That's exactly what I do.

Interviewer: How long have you been doing it?

Carpenter: Ten years.

Interviewer: Very good. Now I'd like to ask you a few technical questions to gauge how well you fit into our team. Do we have a deal?

Carpenter: Sure, that would be fine.

Interviewer: I have to tell you that we work in a division that builds a lot of brown houses. Have you ever built a lot of brown houses?

Carpenter: Well, I'm a carpenter - I build the houses and people already paint them however they want.

Interviewer: Yes, I understand, but could you tell me how much experience you have with brown ones specifically? Well, give or take.

Carpenter: I really have no idea. Since the house has been built, I don't care what colour they paint it in. Maybe six months?

Interviewer: Six months? Actually, we're looking for someone with a lot more brown experience, but let me ask you a few more questions.

Carpenter: Okay. But, you know, painting is painting.

Interviewer: Yes, yes, okay. What about Walnut?

Carpenter: What about him?

Interviewer: Have you worked with walnut wood a lot?

Carpenter: Sure. Walnut, pine, oak, mahogany - anything.

Interviewer: But how many years have you worked with Walnut?

Carpenter: I don't know, damn it. Do I have to count every board?

Interviewer: Well, at least roughly?

Carpenter: Okay, then I'd say I have a year and a half of experience with walnut wood.

Interviewer: But you're not a walnut guru?

Carpenter: Well, I'm a carpenter - I work with all types of wood, which of course has some differences, but I believe that if you're a good carpenter...

Interviewer: Yes, yes, but we use walnut wood. Is that OK?