(First post) Tester stopped, no memory. And long term market behavior

Hi all,

(Edited to include picture I mentioned)

This is my first post, big ups to all of the regular forum participants.  I've learned a lot from your material.  I started learning MQL4 on Jan 1 this year and have limited coding experience in Python and Pine Script.  Anyway I'm finally reaching out with my own topic because I feel I am at the point where I really need a buddy or mentor to point me in the next direction.  

Two problems:

1.) Test stopped because I'm out of memory.  I have 16gb ram and I didn't think I was using more than half of it.  Is there something inside MT4 that limits its own memory usage?  I understand that if I reduce the time period of the test then I won't have this problem but I'm wondering if there is a trick or setting in MT4 to let it go longer.  I was running 5min candles from 2004 to present and it was placing A LOT of trades so I understand this is the problem.  It didn't even get to 2008...

2.) I have tried quite a few different trading criteria and my favorites are basically "mean-reverting" on a super short time frame.  In the attached tester window my trading criteria were driven by two moving averages, one on the high and one on the low, period was 2, linear weighted average.  When the bid goes above the high sma [0] then it enters short and when the bid goes below the low sma [0] then it enters long.  If the enter long criteria is triggered it closes the short and vice versa.  I understand that the [0] prices are moving targets and that in strong trends I get wrecked.