Range Bar Chart on MT4 - page 57

I am new to range bar trading and there is something I don't understand. Range bars are "Non Time Frame" and yet when I open a 2 min chart with a 10 pip Range bar setting, it looks different from a 3 min chart with a 10 pip bar setting. Why is this? Surely they should be the same since time plays no role?

I would appreciate it if someone can clarify / explain this to me.

DerekP:

I am new to range bar trading and there is something I don't understand. Range bars are "Non Time Frame" and yet when I open a 2 min chart with a 10 pip Range bar setting, it looks different from a 3 min chart with a 10 pip bar setting. Why is this? Surely they should be the same since time plays no role?

I would appreciate it if someone can clarify / explain this to me.

It sounds like a bug in the program you use to generate the range chart. Provided that you generate it on the same data, the name of resulting custom timeframe should not affect the result.

Hi Guys!
I've been using this pack to generate RangeBars for quite a few years, now, and it was working fine.
About a month ago something happened, no idea what, and it doesn't generate an offline chart any more.
I am working on the latest MT4 Build 1090 - that hasn't change for over a year.
I am working on Win7 Pro.

Any ideas???

Stanislav Korotky:

It sounds like a bug in the program you use to generate the range chart. Provided that you generate it on the same data, the name of resulting custom timeframe should not affect the result.

Of course it looks diffrent every time you refresh the RB chart.
The RB bars are rendered from a given number of, usually, M1 candles.
In order to always see the same chart, they would need to be rendered from a fixed time point.

Dadas:

Of course it looks diffrent every time you refresh the RB chart.
The RB bars are rendered from a given number of, usually, M1 candles.
In order to always see the same chart, they would need to be rendered from a fixed time point.