My simple 20 pips. - page 8

Unable to view the StepMA indicators

Hi guy's I'm a total newbie so I apologise now for my ignorance . I am keen to test Pipetraders system but have a problem with the StepMA.

I have installed Pipetraders template I also downloaded his StepMA and can see the Force index chart ok, however I cannot get the StepMA indicators to show as seen in the charts that Pipetrader has been posting.

I spent a good few hours playing with MT yesterday so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks to Pipetrader and everyone else posting to this very interesting board.

bug found in EA

I was referred to this thread by a friend of mine.

I downloaded the EAs and looked at the code.

For the safer version I found the following bug which will cause the if statement to always return false.

For Buy

Force3>Force2 && Force2>Force3

For Sell

Force3<Force2 && Force2<Force3

I changed this to

For Buy

Force3>Force2 && Force2>Force1

For Sell

Force3<Force2 && Force2<Force1

Here is a modified version in the hopes it would speed backtesting.

No changes int actual logic. I just moved some code into functions and optimized for speed of backtest.

That was done by studying the rules and modifying the order that the indicators are called.

I also separated the logic for the 3 sets of conditions to enter a trade and the set of conditions to exit a trade.

I usually cheked for Force first because StepMA is slow to calculate.

I also fixed the bug.

I have not yet looked at the riskier version.

When I do I will make the same changes.

Robert

Files: