beginner - difference between EA and Signals

Hi, I am new to MetaTrader and mql5 website, I ended up here looking for an automatization for my trading account. I found robots both in the form of "Signals" and "EA". What is the difference and which should I choose?

shloss:
Hi, I am new to MetaTrader and mql5 website, I ended up here looking for an automatization for my trading account. I found robots both in the form of "Signals" and "EA". What is the difference and which should I choose?
Hi shloss,an EA is an algorithm that you can use on your terminal attaching to a chart. A signal is a connection between accounts so all trades from provider are copied on subscriber account.

Ronnie Mansolillo:
Hi shloss,an EA is an algorithm that you can use on your terminal attaching to a chart. A signal is a connection between accounts so all trades from provider are copied on subscriber account.
Thanks Rookie. So an algorithm could be used by a provider to send me signals, or, if the algorithm is available to me, I could alternatively use it on my terminal (EA)?

shloss:

The algorithm can have an infinity on functions and one can be to send trades but in this case you also need one on your terminal to receive the trades.

In alternative the signal service doesn't require EA's to send and receive trades, just subscription and terminals always connected to internet.

Ronnie Mansolillo:

The algorithm can have an infinity on functions and one can be to send trades but in this case you also need one on your terminal to receive the trades.

In alternative the signal service doesn't require EA's to send and receive trades, just subscription and terminals always connected to internet.

thanks Ronnie!

I guess beginners all go for signals...

EAs maybe are for people more into coding, right? 

shloss:

thanks Ronnie!

I guess beginners all go for signals...

EAs maybe are for people more into coding, right?