Volumes, volatility and Hearst index - page 30

Farnsworth:

You can't isolate noise on a quotation - you probably don't understand this because you haven't tried it. And no ARPSS will help you on quotations and you will never find these plots. If only there were more of us millionaire smart guys walking around, there wouldn't be enough castles for everybody. :о) To isolate noise means to find an adequate model.

I think Prival is in this thread. The passages about the Kalman filter, for example, also referred to this. As far as I understand it, ideally the noise should be normal. Then it would be possible to predict not only the trajectories of enemy aircraft, but also the kotirs :)

Farnsworth:

I am not a scientist

It's not like I was addressing you personally. But since you replied - the contrived self-identification did not work :)

As for the question, it is not to the errors in the interpretation of the results of the analysis of the same process (such hasty conclusions kindly faa1947 demonstrates - by deleting every second observation, requires that the period in units is kept), but in the fact of the cyclicality of the moving average of the sum of random series.

This makes it impossible for me to understand the quoting process itself and the resulting price trajectory.

And if the alleged geometric wandering of a quotient is the result of a series of random processes (smoothed by DC filts and coarsened discretisations of taframes), then how is this consistent with the uniform distribution (and ultimately the Gaussian) of some popular models?

By the way, the "trend-wave-noise" model over a "very long period" does not bear out with respect to forex - there cannot be a trend here by definition.

Gold, oil, sugar - a trend is needed there. To estimate inflation...

;)

Mathemat: