Intuition testing - page 18

MetaDriver >> :

It took me a long time to figure it out and scratch my head... Got some of it, but not all of it, I'm afraid. :)

Yuri, could you write for future generations a universal RNG series generating series with most popular distributions for local mathematicians?

It can be done as an mql-object. That would make statistics fans happy! Make a topic, open a project, consultants and critics will come running in a jiffy, the topic will break the popularity record ... I'll probably be checking it out myself. But it's a little early for me to be in the lead on this topic. I'm not good at statistics. I'm catching up a bit, but so far so good.

You'll do just fine, it's your weight class. What do you think?

I don't see any problems with normalization to 1, but with distribution obtained this way it is too narrow and the more you sum up, the narrower it is.

If you want a wider bell, how do you do it?

After all, we are talking about specifying a distribution based on specified parameters. Suppose we set the RMS and RMS and the generator sets a set of random numbers that are normally distributed.

Urain >> :

Just normalizing to 1, I don't see any problems, but the distribution obtained this way is getting pretty narrow and the more you add up, the narrower it gets.

>> Well, yes, it is :)

Urain >> :

and if you want to get a wide bell then how?

Then it depends on whether you want to crack the problem in a general way, or whether you want to solve it in a limited range.

That is, for example, the way the problem was stated in the topic: find the probability distribution for 100 trials on the "intuition tester".

If a "limited" solution suits you, then it's not that complicated.

One can simply use Bernoulli's formula { Pn(m) = (n! / ( m! * (n - m!) ) ) * p^n * q^(n-m) } calculate the probabilities for each m (n=100, p=1/2, q=1/2).

For a rough estimate of the numbers double will suffice.