Our Masha! - page 16

Prival >> :

Share what you consider to be a powerful base. Only, please, be more specific, don't refer to Shiryaev, many read him here or other books. As an aviation radio engineer I would be interested (all my life I was involved in detection, tracking and guidance algorithms, I think as a pilot you should understand what that is). In the market for quite some time.

A trader's job is 1. looking for patterns, 2. business, 3. looking for market inefficiencies.

I mainly deal with the third and the second. on some products 3 tends to 1.

If our approaches agree, then you are on the right track...

Forex is tradable as long as you use the methods correctly, be it naive econometric models, or proverbial neural networks, correctly supply inputs, set outputs and the overall objective.

When working with forex filters, you need to find the most robust frequencies possible. If the filter does not allow to have such frequencies, you should switch it off and not use it anymore.... Or move to another market...

Mr NorthernWind,

Regarding Markowitz, very glad you are familiar with his work, it is a base and one should know it before arguing about "asset management with fractals and waves..."

I have a paper on my desk right now about stochastic processes with jumps, drifts and viscosity in a Markov shifting market regime... If you have worked on this too, and in more than one model and market, I would be willing to listen to your critique, as I could really, really use it right now....

Quant >> :

Spend a lifetime on theoretical pursuits, or use the powerful base already established for practical work. It's your choice.

But those who engage in these pursuits are spending HIS life, not YOUR life, on what they can achieve,

You can only guess, and with a fair amount of error and subjectivity.

goldtrader >> :

But those who engage in these endeavours spend HIS life, not YOUR life, and what they can achieve,