Discussion on MQL4 documentation - page 13

chv:
Dmitrich:

This is the book I'm studying at the moment. Can you tell me how to compile the examples, please? Do you need any C compiler?

If you really don't care which compiler, you can try pulling the free Microsoft Visual C++ 2005 Express Edition.
You need to download web install - http://download.microsoft.com/download/E/B/B/EBB39CA3-C78B-49CD-B1BA-3CB80A8A5B09/vcsetup. exe 2.87 MB.
Then after launching it will pull the actual compiler installation, it showed me that it is 68Mb.

And then there is SP1 for it, it is an error correction package, file http://download.microsoft.com/download/7/7/3/7737290f-98e8-45bf-9075-85cc6ae34bf1/VS80sp1-KB926748-X86-INTL. exe - 43 Mb.
If you are on DSL, you can easily download it, on dial-up it would be a bit difficult. I didn't install it because I have a more complete edition of Visual Studio 2005 but you can work with this one too.
If you have a good unlim channel, you can try to pull the latest version of Visual Studio "Orcas" from http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?familyid=281fcb3d-5e79-4126-b4c0-8db6332de26e&displaylang=en, it has March CTP version, but it will be 4.4 Gb on DVD, for example I find it difficult to pull it.
Thank you Valery! I have unlimited DSL, but that turned out to be of no use. I should probably look for an older version of the compiler. The one you recommend asks for the second servicepack, I have the first.

I don't know how to compile C, I've never been interested in it. You have to learn C if you want to become a C programmer or then MQL. I have never been tempted by this career. I don't need it to create indicators and Expert Advisors in MQL (this is my personal opinion). The articles already linked here plus good documentation are enough to create almost anything. No need to complicate your life.