Pure maths, physics, logic (braingames.ru): non-trade-related brain games - page 108

Mathemat:

Believe me, I didn't come to that conclusion for nothing either. You are a witness: I resisted at first.

Sorry, I only believe Stringo.

Mathemat:

Not all of it. I'm stuck. But first you need someone to understand the reasoning given earlier:

I'm not good at maths and everything I wrote above is purely theoretical, but kind of true. I do not use mathematics very often, I use "simulations" in my brain more than anything else. That's it, I'm asleep. :)

Mathemat:

Not all of it. I'm stuck. But first you need at least someone to understand the reasoning given earlier (or argue the point):

Let the time dt has passed. During this time the snow has increased the mass of the cart by dm = alpha * dt = dm/dt * dt. We assume that the snow falls on the cart, increasing its mass with speed alpha. The mass of the cart grows according to the law m(t) = m_0 + alpha*t (if the snow is not dumped).

The cart's momentum has not changed. The friction changed but slightly. It will go back, as the cart mass will remain the same when the snow is dumped.

Now the megamotive takes the same mass of snow dm and throws it perpendicular to the motion for the same time dt. Due to the fact that the cart is moving forward with speed v, the megamosk tosses forward the momentum dp = v*dm - in the same time dt.

Hence, it throws momentum dp = v*alpha*dt in time dt. I'm only talking about the motion-directed component. How fast he tosses the snow perpendicular to the motion - even a third cosmic speed - is of no concern to me at all.

This is correct.

So, by pushing the cart back, it creates a reactive force equal to dp/dt = v*alpha and directed already against the motion. Consider that the megamotor is not a person, but a pump that sweeps the snow off the cart.