Errors, bugs, questions - page 2636

Koldun Zloy:

I'm not a developer, but I'll comment.

For a static array, the compiler has to allocate a certain number of bytes in memory at compile time.

How much memory should the compiler allocate if row and col are unknown at compile time?

Initial values are only used if parameters are omitted when calling. The actual parameters are only known at runtime.

So, no gimmicks, learn the language.

This is a bit tongue-in-cheek, but it's more of an appeal to the developer.
So Zloy, don't take it personally.

It turns out that dynamic matrices can only be handled through objects or structures. Another crutch is created in general.
There are no pointers to variable in mql, so we have to use the object approach where pointers are available.
So, to use dynamic matrices, a user must know OOP and working with pointers, and moreover, in MQL execution.
How many of them have this knowledge? You know the answer yourself. I don't have any difficulties in understanding the object approach, but for those who don't know OOP
. They create an artificial threshold for using the language, in particular when dealing with dynamic matrices.
As I see it, a developer, on the contrary, should be interested in making the language easier to use, rather than complicating it.
In other words, they should develop such functions which are necessary to the user for comfortable work with the language.
And all the more so with matrices, which are almost the basis of numerical methods.

For this reason, I would like to ask you to create functions similar to ArrayResize, but for matrices ArrayResizeMx(A, n, m),
and perhaps for multidimensional ones as well. In other words, give the possibility to work with matrices not as with objects, but as with customary arrays in the C style.
Especially for visual representation of matrices, the ArrayPrint(A, 0) function prints matrices from arrays, not from objects.

Roman: