MQL4 EA takes long positions but not short positions -- the code is almost the same

Hello, novice here. I have an EA which is supposed to take long and short positions. It is only taking long positions. The code used to take create a long or short position is almost the same, the only difference is that it is mirrored. I've already searched on Google, the MQL5 forums, Reddit, and I've referenced the official MQL4 documentation. I have rewritten this code from blank. I also showed this to another novice who could not find the bug, either.

What is supposed to happen;

- Line 1 is checking if the program should open a short position. Line 11 is checking if the program should open a long position.

-Line 2 is making sure that the stop loss distance is greater than the value of 0.05. Since this is a short position, the stop loss subtracts the entry to return the difference. Line 12 is a mirror opposite.

-The program is not getting past Line 2, even though it IS getting past Line 12.

1  if (isShort == true) {
2    if (stopLoss - entry > 0.05) {
3        bool isMarginAvailable = IsMarginAvailable();
4        if (isMarginAvailable == true) {
5            OrderSend(symbol, OP_SELL, lotSize, MarketInfo(symbol,MODE_BID), 6slippage, stopLoss, takeProfit);
7        }
8     }
9  }
11  if (isShort == false) {
12     if (entry - stopLoss > 0.05) {
13       bool isMarginAvailable = IsMarginAvailable();
14       if (isMarginAvailable == true) {
15          OrderSend(symbol, OP_BUY, lotSize, MarketInfo(symbol,MODE_ASK), 16slippage, stopLoss, takeProfit);
17       }                                    
18     }
19  }

Starting Line 11 at if(isShort==false){} and everything inside that if-statement works fine and as expected.

On Line 1, if(isShort==true){} stops working on Line 2 at the statement if(stopLoss - entry > 0.05){}. I have removed the Print statements to clean up the code, but the program won't go any further than Line 2.