can anyone help me understand how this function working ?

I couldn't get in touch with the author , therefore I decided to ask in the forum to help me understand some function :

Thank you in advance, please bare in mind that I am not professional IT or trader. so I am just an amateur, but I like to study more in Mql4 and EA, so please help me understand some code. I DO have studied some from books/youtubes/etc, but still can not figure out some, such as this one : 

-qte-

//+------------------------------------------------------------------+

//| Calculate position volume                                        |

//+------------------------------------------------------------------+

double Lots()

{

double maximumRisk=0.1;

int lotsDigits=MathLog10(MarketInfo("EURUSD",MODE_MINLOT)); // I deleted " (int)-  "

double lots=NormalizeDouble(AccountFreeMargin()*maximumRisk/(500000.0/AccountLeverage()),lotsDigits);

if(lots>MarketInfo("EURUSD",MODE_MAXLOT))

lots=MarketInfo("EURUSD",MODE_MAXLOT);

if(lots<MarketInfo("EURUSD",MODE_MINLOT))

lots=MarketInfo("EURUSD",MODE_MINLOT);

return(lots);

}

- unqte -

can explain line by line whats meaning ? and especially why there is this '500000.0' ? 

Thanks you

Regards

Seanlu21

int lotsDigits=MathLog10(MarketInfo("EURUSD",MODE_MINLOT)); // I deleted " (int)-  "

You get a digit / a number, e.g. 2, 3, 4 or 5 which you use later in function NormalizeDouble()

The purpose is to get "valid" volume size number, e.g. 0.02 , etc.

MarketInfo("EURUSD",MODE_MAXLOT)

MarketInfo("EURUSD",MODE_MINLOT)

Get the maximum/minumym volume limit of the pair, e.g. "EURUSD"

maximumRisk (normally in percentage of e.g. Free Margin)

newlots = AccountFreeMargin() * maximumRisk / (500000.0/AccountLeverage())

lots=NormalizeDouble(newlots)

Why the number 500000.0 ?
No idea, probably an upper limit / a fix balance ?

You might want to simplify the formula to 

maximumRisk = 2.5

newlots = AccountFreeMargin() * maximumRisk / 100.0