Things Coders' Guru Never Taught Me

INTRODUCTION

I have learned a few things after thousands of hours fighting with MQL4 and I want to share some of it. Here is my qualifications: I am not a professional programmer but have written an EA that is 20 or 30 pages long. And yet it will backtest (on H1 with 1 minute data, on Ticks) in under 1 minute per year or about 100 trades. Also, after six months of forward (demo) testing and debugging it takes and closes trades exactly when and how it should.

If you have a good clear explanation of some part of Metatrader that the following sources do not explain well enough, this is the place to post it. Like WHEN or WHY or HOW you would use / not use some command or code or section. Give examples.

This thread is NOT, I repeat NOT to answer questions that are contained in one of the following areas:

Coders' Guru's lessons. MetaEditor help files. Metatrader help files. Search Forex-TSD threads especially “How to Code?”and “Ask!”. Do your homework, don't ask me!

If you post code, be a Pro: TEST IT FIRST to make sure it exactly does what you say.

There is little more frustrating to a new coder than solutions with bugs in them!

This is not the place for obscure tricks that only 0.1% of programs need.

It is not the place for how to use Metatrader.

It IS the place for widely useful programming insights.

Big Be

Nice thread Big Be.

Lots of useful information here for beginners, even useful to some who have coding experience.

ya well done

seriously, please tell us

about the guideline to DEBUG with IDE like Visual studio, eclipse