New trader here - developing a Bollinger squeeze system

This is an awesome forum! Thanks to everyone who has contributed information that I have been studying. Also, thanks in advance to anyone who offers me help here.

So, I am fairly new to the Forex market, and I have been experimenting with trial accounts and trying to come up with a system for trading. What I have come up with so far and what I think will work best with my way of thinking is based off the Bollinger squeeze-breakout:

1. Watch for possible Bollinger squeeze pattern - upper and lower bands getting closer together.
  2. Once a squeeze pattern is identified, watch for a breakout when upper and lower bands start getting farther apart. This could probably be applied to a Bollinger channel as well (which is essentially just an extended squeeze I guess).
  3. Once a breakout is identified, confirm direction of the breakout with RSI, Stochastic, MACD, and the SMA Bollinger center line.
  4. If price is going up, take a long position. If price is going down, take a short position.
  5. Monitor RSI and Stochastic and watch for a reversal, take profit at time reversal is identified.
  6. Possible points of refinement / parameters to identify:

7. What parameters constitue a Bollinger squeeze? Is it a certain pip range, say when upper and lower bands come within 30 pips of each other? In looking at historical data, I have noticed breakouts after higher ranges than this. Could it be based off of a percentage difference between upper and lower bands? I am very good at visually identifying patterns such as this, so I can just trade them manually for now, but I am also good at programming and will probably start to write a MQL 4 EA based off this system soon.
  8. What parameters identify a breakout? A certain percent increase from the squeeze in upper-lower band spread? When the spread reverts back to a level it was at before the squeeze or channel?