MLQ4 Coding Practices

Hi fellow traders and coders...

It appears that this is a possible new discussion thread, so maybe we can consolidte many coding tools and ideas in one place. Also, this is my first post of this type, and I hope it comes out alright in terms of the formatting... I have tried my best, and we will see what happens... or maybe this will never see the light of day...

I am not a professional programmer, but have done a lot of programming... and I have been transitioning to MLQ4 now for about six months... determined to create my own grail, which I would never publish... or even sell but, I do believe in sharing fundamental knowledge to help others formulate unique solutions for themselves...

I will give an example of how I use a couple of handlers in my EA, and how I think I improved on the coding practices I have seen in use for similar purposes.

I am going to give long function names to help in understanding the following example.

In the main EA (Start()) cycle code, I have three references to a single function that reads indicator data, and renders buy, sell, exit buy, and exit sell opinions. That single function I will name IndicatorSet(). Within IndicatorSet() is a "switch" command with five cases...

Case 0 read indicator data called by: IndicatorSet(0);

Case 1 render a buy opinion IndicatorSet(1);

Case 2 render a sell opinion IndicatorSet(2);

Case 3 render an exit buy opinion IndicatorSet(3);

Case 4 render an exit sell opinion IndicatorSet(4);

Example function code for IndicatorSet():

bool IndicatorSet(int cmd)

{

switch(cmd)

{case 0: // Command to read indicator data.

*** Example indicator ***

SD_0 = iStdDev(NULL,0,SD_period,0,3,6,0);

SD_1 = iStdDev(NULL,0,SD_period,0,3,6,1);

break;

case 1: // Command to check for a buy possibility.

*** Logic for rendering a buy signal or opinion using the indicator data.

When buy criteria are met, this block executes return(true); otherwise it

executes return(false); ***

break;