TRENDS AND CYCLES

My name is Makinde lt and I would like to direct this question to the Forex gurus out there.

I have been in the spot market trade now for over half a decade and heard so much been touted about trends, but nobody seems to be saying the market could be anywhere cyclic. May I ask why this so please?

I'm no forex guru, however I agree with your general premise. Allot is touted about trends but when it comes to strictly_defining and testing_it, most trend_supporters starts back-pedaling into subjectiveness. Cycles have been mentioned quite allot, however, trend_followers seems to shout the loudest. If someone's telling everyone else that only following the trend is the key to success. Then I think asking them what a trend_is should be a fair question.

When I was a newbie, one of my first forex video tutorial, the presenter showed a chart of gbpusd and pointed that the gbpusd had stayed in a 20_year_range. The support and resistance levels was clearly shown on that weekly_chart, he also pointed out that someone of this knowledge could have become a billionaire 100_times over trading that range. The lesson I learned from that is one_man's range||cycle is another mans trend and vice-versa.

I generally do-not promote one methodology over another because (imo) they're usually both sides of the same coin.

ubzen:

I'm no forex guru, however I agree with your general premise. Allot is touted about trends but when it comes to strictly_defining and testing_it, most trend_supporters starts back-pedaling into subjectiveness. Cycles have been mentioned quite allot, however, trend_followers seems to shout the loudest. If someone's telling everyone else that only following the trend is the key to success. Then I think asking them what a trend_is should be a fair question.