Boolean Function that checks for an open order

Here's a function that checks to see if there is an open order. I'm a rank beginner at coding in MT4 so I welcome your comments. But it does seem to work.

bool NoOpenOrdersExist() //True when no open order, False when is open order
{
    int total = OrdersTotal();
    for(int i = 0; i < total; i++)
    {
        OrderSelect(i,SELECT_BY_POS,MODE_TRADES);
        if (OrderMagicNumber() == Magic && OrderSymbol() == Symbol())
        {
            Print ("no open order, false");
            return (false);
        }
    }
    Print ("no open order, true");
    return (true);
}// End "NoOpenOrdersExist()"

MisterDog 2012.06.04 08:08

Here's a function that checks to see if there is an open order. I'm a rank beginner at coding in MT4 so I welcome your comments. But it does seem to work

Maybe, if you print the result correctly ... :D

if (OrderSelect(i,SELECT_BY_POS,MODE_TRADES) == True
    && OrderMagicNumber() == Magic 
    && OrderSymbol() == Symbol())
    {
    Print ("no open order, false"); // What ????
    return (false); // is it true ???
    }

onewithzachy:

logic on this thing is a little confusing. It is a "no open orders exist" function rather than an "open orders exist" function. When I print, "no open orders, false" you could translate that as, "there is an open order". And your right to return (false) really means it's true there is an open order. Do you think I should rewrite it a little more intuitively -- Call it an "open order exist" function so I could return True if there was an open order?

onewithzachy:

The result is printed correctly, it's a double negative . . . No Open Order Exists = false means an Open Order Does Exist . . . the OP should take on board what you have shown with the OrderSelect . . and should read this: What are Function return values ? How do I use them ?

MisterDog: