MQL4 V Ninjascript

Hi, I`m new to the forum and am wondering if there are a few people here that have experience with both ninjascript and MQL4? If so can you please comment on which you think is best and why? As I`m interested in learning one or the other to be able to program my own automated trading strategies. I have no experience with any programing. I have been using some EA's in Meta trader 4 for a while, and have done some backtesting and optimising, but that's all. I also have experience as an intra day swing trader. Would love to create an automated strategy based on Gann swings.

Cheers,

Ken.

swinger318:

Hi, I`m new to the forum and am wondering if there are a few people here that have experience with both ninjascript and MQL4? If so can you please comment on which you think is best and why? As I`m interested in learning one or the other to be able to program my own automated trading strategies. I have no experience with any programing.

Not a question with a simple answer, and very much subject to personal views. In terms of the pure languages, I'd say that the C# implementation in NinjaTrader beats MQL4 and MQL5 in every regard except one: MQL4 is probably a flatter learning curve for beginners (though this very arguably isn't true of MQL5).

But that's only a small part of the picture. NinjaTrader and its brokers give you ready access to equities and futures as well as forex. MT4 is predominantly just a forex platform (albeit with patchy support for futures from some brokers). The counterparty risk from MT4 brokers is also generally higher than with brokers who support NinjaTrader.