Errors when testing default eas that come with MT5

Hi, there! I am originally an MT4 user, and therefore very new to MT5!

I wanted to have a better understanding of its Strategy Tester so I tried to run a strategy test ("backtest") of one of the EAs that come with MT5 (MACD Sample) on EURUSD H4 over the first 4 months of 2103.

I did it in Visualization mode, and noticed that no trades were triggered (?!). When looking at the Journal of the Strategy Tester Visualization window I noticed that all potential trades were aborted with the log "Error opening BUY/SELL position by EURUSD: '(null)'"

Any idea why is this happening? I find it strange that a stock EA that comes with MT5 does not work? Unless as a newbie I am missing something "obvious"! ;-)

Thanks in advance for your help! 

pipnotic:

Hi, there! I am originally an MT4 user, and therefore very new to MT5!

I wanted to have a better understanding of its Strategy Tester so I tried to run a strategy test ("backtest") of one of the EAs that come with MT5 (MACD Sample) on EURUSD H4 over the first 4 months of 2103.

I did it in Visualization mode, and noticed that no trades were triggered (?!). When looking at the Journal of the Strategy Tester Visualization window I noticed that all potential trades were aborted with the log "Error opening BUY/SELL position by EURUSD: '(null)'"

Any idea why is this happening? I find it strange that a stock EA that comes with MT5 does not work? Unless as a newbie I am missing something "obvious"! ;-)

Thanks in advance for your help! 

Did you open a Demo account with a Broker ?  perhaps you can post a screenshot of your Strategy Tester window,  it may help diagnose the issue ?
Documentation on MQL5: Standard Constants, Enumerations and Structures / Environment State / Account Properties
Documentation on MQL5: Standard Constants, Enumerations and Structures / Environment State / Account Properties
  • www.mql5.com