Scaling in and out

Hi I'm new to the MQL4 community and platform.

Can an EA be programmed to scale in and out of positions?

Say buy three contracts, then have multiple exit conditions for each contract etc.

Thanks.

Rapidedward:

Say buy three contracts, then have multiple exit conditions for each contract etc.

Thanks.

Yep of course, "everything" a human trader can do is possible to encode it into an automate form. Just a matter of how, or time and work you put in, or skills and understanding of combined strategies... But I've seen EA's scale in and out myself so yeah its possible, though it was programmed with TradeStation, I'm sure it can be done with mql4 also. Find the right programmer and he can do whatever you please!

mank

mank:

Yep of course, "everything" a human trader can do is possible to encode it into an automate form.

If you are a visual manual trader that draws trend-lines, heads-and-shoulders, flags, breakouts, waves, these things are a bit difficult to translate into code because people usually can't agree exactly on what they are supposed to look like in the first place.

Rapidedward:

Thanks.

I am struggling with this too. Would someone please answer the following:

1. In the "Book" there are complex examples to track the trades: Terminal(), Event(), ... Is there a SIMPLER way to find out if a pending order was filled or not? Tradestation Easylanguage provides the MarketPosition function. Is there a parallel to that in MQL4?

For those not familiar with Easylanguage, in backtesting or real live trading, you can call MarketPosition (no ticket#, no parameters, ...). If it returns 0, you are flat and have no open positions in that security, if it returns 1, you are long, if it returns -1 you are short. That's it.

2. Now that we "somehow" (?) know the pending order was filled and for e.g. we are 3 lots long, we want to exit 1 lot at profit target 1 and the rest at profit target 2. How do we do this in MQL4?

Thanks

Hi,