Prevent SL to trigger during wide spread

Hi experts :)

I'm rather new to MT5, so I have limited knowhow.

I'm running an EA, which placed orders incl. TP and SL (all good). However, during marked closure - or that very volatile hour - my broker has high spreads (e.g. 29 pips on EURGBP), which sometimes triggers my SL "unwantedly". Meaning: I lose my trade to SL, due to wide spreads during that hour.

Is there a smart way, by code, or by a known EA, to prevent MT5 to take those SL-trades, when the spread is wide? - Or even simply during that particular hour during the day?

OK_Den:

I'm running an EA, which placed orders incl. TP and SL (all good). However, during marked closure - or that very volatile hour - my broker has high spreads (e.g. 29 pips on EURGBP), which sometimes triggers my SL "unwantedly". Meaning: I lose my trade to SL, due to wide spreads during that hour.

Is there a smart way, by code, or by a known EA, to prevent MT5 to take those SL-trades, when the spread is wide? - Or even simply during that particular hour during the day?

Hi Den, 

I am new to Forex (& CFD) world as well but just to think, how about you remove your SL just before that market close hour  & bring it back after that hour passes ? 

OK_Den:

by virtual sl ea or script, but you need to have a mt5 open while the trades are open, or the ea or script will not work.

OR do as @SD_Aus suggested.

Michael Charles Schefe #:

by virtual sl ea or script, but you need to have a mt5 open while the trades are open, or the ea or script will not work.

OR do as @SD_Aus suggested.

MT5 is running on a VPS, so it's always online.

Might anyone have knowlegde of such script or EA being available to block SL-losses, of offset SL, during XY-time range during the day?

If it’s your own code you can always add that function. Remove stoploss on open order if spread is bigger then xxx

OK_Den #:

MT5 is running on a VPS, so it's always online.