Are EA cached?

I've searched this forum and the internet and I did not find any discussion that hints that EAs are cached. 

I am new to MQL programming and I am trying out a simple strategy to get my feet wet with how it works. I have a simple code that looks like the following:

CTrade trade;
   if (buyNow) {
      trade.PositionOpen(_Symbol, ORDER_TYPE_BUY,1.0,ask,sl,tp,"MA");
   }
   if (sellNow) {
      trade.PositionOpen(_Symbol, ORDER_TYPE_SELL,1.0,bid,sl,tp,"MA");
   }

The "sellNow" logic doesn't behave the way I expected it too. To isolate it and make sure that the opening of long positions has no issues, I removed it from the code such that there is only the if (buyNow) logic. However, when I run my code the Strategy Tester chart is still showing short positions. Now, I removed both conditions (buyNow and sellNow), compiled my code, and then tested it. I don't see both long and short positions on the chart, which is correct. I also tried compiling then closing the editor and my MT client and restarted everything. After testing my code the result is still the same.

What am I missing?