Backtesting question - loading files

Hi there,

I've been backtesting strategies for a few months now and ran into a new issue today.

Namely, until today, whenever I changed the code, saved it and started a backtest on the same file, the last saved file was loaded for backtesting.

Until today:

New file FileA created, parameter value set to 3, FileA saved.
- When initiating backtest, parameter value 3 used.

Parameter value changed to 5, FileA saved.
- When initiating backtest, parameter value 5 used.

Parameter value changed to 6, FileA saved.
- When initiating backtest, parameter value 6 used.

However, starting from today, when initiating backtesting, it doesn't recognise that the code has been updated and always the initial file is loaded (not the file that was resaved).

Starting from today:

New file FileA created, parameter value set to 3, FileA saved.

Parameter value changed to 3, FileA saved.

Parameter value changed to 6, FileA saved.

I can only overcome this by renaming the file every time I change anything.

Has any of you ran into a similar issue? What do I need to do to ensure that the latest saved file gets loaded to backtester? I'd be really grateful for suggestions to solve it!

I'm using MetaTrader5 on Mac. To my knowledge, I haven't changed anything in the settings!

Thanks,

B

What "saved files" are you talking about? Is the Strategy Tester in MetaTrader 5?

Those don't seem to be standard messages from the tester, but rather log output generated by your own code.

You will have to explain things in more detail if you want us to understand your issue.

Fernando Carreiro #:

What "saved files" are you talking about? Is the Strategy Tester in MetaTrader 5?

Those don't seem to be standard messages from the tester, but rather log output generated by your own code.

You will have to explain things in more detail if you want us to understand your issue.

Hi there,

Thanks for your prompt reply!