Investors to sue Moscow Exchange over stoppage of WTI oil trading - page 3

dr.mr.mom:

Since 1 May.

Friends, please explain this whole situation to me from the point of view of STACKAN. And so thought and so, I do not understand. I could understand if the price would move simply "by the indicative", but it seems it is FORTS also by the book, i.e. by counter orders. How did it end up below 0? What kind of negative bids were knocked into by negative offers. It's even a little chilly from lack of understanding)

And explain to me at the same time, I can't understand. How positions could have been closed if the exchange was closed. I understand that if the futures are bought, the futures have to be sold to someone on the market in order for the client to close. But how was it sold if the market was closed and to whom? I am not an expert in futures and I am obviously misunderstanding something, I want to understand better how it works.

Maxim Romanov:
And explain to me at the same time, I can't understand it. How positions could have been closed if the exchange was closed. I understand that if the futures are bought, the futures have to be sold to someone by the market in order for the client to close. But how was it sold if the market was closed and to whom? I am not an expert in futures and I am obviously misunderstanding something, I want to understand better how it works.

Brokers simply ask customers to fully close their existing contract positions in the portfolio before the end of trading on the same day. Thereafter, all unexecuted orders are cancelled and open positions are enforced according to risk management rules. The legal basis for all these measures is the changes to the exchange's operating rules that have been urgently adopted by the Derivatives Market Committee.

dr.mr.mom:

Since 1 May.