Pair trading. How to close orders with maximum profit? - page 4

edutak:
Who has any ideas on what principle, or rules, to close orders in profit. For simplicity, let it be EURUSD/USDCHF.
If you have no problems with mathematics, see: albert-shiryaev.pdf

Youri Tarshecki:
Just compare the forward sums for each closing option and it will be clear.

Please give me an example.

If I understand correctly, the comparison has to be done all the time. Still, I do not understand how to catch the best point.

Yury Reshetov:
If you don't have a problem with maths, see: albert-shiryaev.pdf

Thanks for the link.

I am not very good at maths, but I have a question - have Shiryaev and his comrades-in-arms become millionaires?)

edutak:

Please give me an example.

If I understand correctly, the comparison has to be done all the time. Still, I don't understand how to catch the best point.

If you close with oscillator - calculate forward amount, if you close with oscillator AND stop - calculate forward amount, if you close with re-scorrelation AND oscillator - calculate forward amount... and so on and so forth. Go through all variants and see which is better. In any case, until you check it yourself, no one will give you practical advice, because everyone's system is different.

edutak:

Thanks for the link.

I'm not very good at maths, but I have a question - have Shiryaev and his companions become millionaires?)

EUR-CHF correlation coefficient, daily data, 2009-2015, floating window of 400 observations.

Pair trading in forex is impossible - the correlation is "floating" from -1 to +1 for all instruments, it is impossible to build a market-neutral portfolio.

But you can read the methodology for building, opening and closing here - https://ru.wikipedia.org/wiki/%D0%9F%D0%B0%D1%80%D0%BD%D1%8B%D0%B9_%D1%82%D1%80%D0%B5%D0%B9%D0%B4%D0%B8%D0%BD%D0%B3

Парный трейдинг — Википедия
Парный трейдинг — Википедия
  • ru.wikipedia.org