a trading strategy based on Elliott Wave Theory - page 279

Dear solandr and Yurixx - thanks for your interest!

I'll try to go into more detail about wavelets. I apologize in advance for a long post - I can't make it short, the topic is too rich.

A small digression. When I saw quotation charts for the first time, I was struck by their similarity to curves I had been processing and studying for many years. Of course, they were from another area, and now I'm once again convinced that the nature is the same. At that time wavelets helped a lot, and I just liked them. Now I want to apply them to price series and see what I get and what benefits they may offer for building a good TS.

Let's proceed in order.

1. Why Wavelets?

A wavelet analysis is a special case of the multyscale analysis, which is used with great success for studying non-linear, non-stationary, fractal and quasi-periodic objects. And this is exactly what the financial market is like! And everyone seems to agree with it. It seems to me that wavelets are just what the doctor ordered.

2. Which methods should I use?

There are many different methods of wavelet transform and analysis and at a glance we can count at least ten well-known ones and many more exotic ones. We have to choose something. So far, it seems to me that three old, now classical, methods will do very well here. However, I am not ruling out the idea of trying something new and exotic later.

Here are the three methods:

- discrete wavelet transform (DWT), Mull algorithm;
- continuous wavelet transform (CWT);
- wavelets on interval and lifting algorithm (LA).