Market prediction based on macroeconomic indicators - page 12

avtomat:

is only true for the limited class of models that "your universities" have taught you.

I didn't study it in universities. I'm self-taught. I think with my own brains. I question and double-check everything. The necessity of stationarity itself came to me after unsuccessful multiple attempts to obtain a model on non-stationary data. I can prove in details, but I am sorry for time as everybody will stick to their opinions.

My interest in this topic started after watching the market news, where professor Steve Keen bragged about how his economic model predicted the crash of 2008, but the DSGE model used by Fed was unable to predict anything. So I studied the DSGE model and Keen's model. For those who want to follow my path, I suggest starting with this Matlab article about DSGE model. It has all the necessary codes, including the code to swap economic data from the FRED fedreserve database:

http://www.mathworks.com/help/econ/examples/modeling-the-united-states-economy.html

The Fed model uses the following predictors:

% FRED Series Description% ---------------------------------------------------------------------------% COE Paid compensation of employees in $ billions% CPIAUCSL Consumer price index% FEDFUNDS Effective federal funds rate% GCE Government consumption expenditures and investment in $ billions% GDP Gross domestic product in $ billions% GDPDEF Gross domestic product price deflator% GPDI Gross private domestic investment in $ billions% GS10 Ten- year treasury bond yield % HOyear treasury bond yield% HOANBS Non-farm business sector index of hours worked% M1SL M1 money supply (narrow money)% M2SL M2 money supply (broad money)% PCEC Personal consumption expenditures in $ billions% TB3MS Three-month treasury bill yield% UNRATE Unemployment rate

Then watch Steve Keen's lectures on YouTube:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aJIE5QTSSYA

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DDk4c4WIiCA