Territory of probability - page 7

Stasikusssss:

I'm not a professor, I don't know how to say it scientifically.

But to calculate the probability you need to know the number of possible outcomes of the event.

For example, probability of tails = 1/2 = 50%, probability of six on a die = 1/6 = 16.67%.

But the price series, the results of TC - this is a completely different area, how to calculate the probability there scientifically I do not know, and even if it is possible?

Statistics can be applied to the results of TC, but there will not be any probability, variance, expectations.

Suppose I performed 100 test trades.

I have made 60 losing trades of which the average loss is 70 pips.

40 of them are profitable, the average profit is 150 pips.

Why can't I predict whether it makes financial sense to continue trading?

Clearly, each new trade will make a correction to the indicators. Then I can count the deviation of the performance of the last 25 trades from the underlying history of 100 trades. And as long as these deviations are within sigma, I can leave the parameters of the TS untouched.

notused:

Now, dimensionality changes quite often and they try to apply the same methods to all states, which leads to wrong conclusions and losses.

+100500

By the way, I'll open up a piece of the grail.

In all the books, articles and forums I write about testing with a large number of trades, then forward testing and also hundreds, thousands of trades. There is a deep sense in this.