MQL5 Trailing Stops base on indicator

Hi Guys,

I'm fairly new to MQL5 as a language having mainly been coding with python and associated languages in my day to day work but I'm trying to learn MQL5.

I've been following a lot of the tutorials etc to get a general grasp on the language but I'm strugging with modifying the stop's on a position. It seems much easier in MQL4 which I've used in the past but trying to move to MQL5 instead.

This code below is based overall on one of the tutorials I found on the mql5 site. This is within OnTick

//--- Trailing SL's
// any opened Buy position?
   if(m_Position.SelectByMagic(_Symbol, Buy_Magic))                     //if the position for this symbol already exists
     {
      if(m_Position.PositionType()==POSITION_TYPE_BUY)
        {
         if(m_Position.StopLoss() < iMA(_Symbol,PERIOD_CURRENT,20,0,MODE_SMA,PRICE_CLOSE))
            m_Trade.PositionModify(m_Position.Ticket(), iMA(_Symbol,PERIOD_CURRENT,20,0,MODE_SMA,PRICE_CLOSE), 0);
        }
     }

// any opened Sell position?
   if(m_Position.SelectByMagic(_Symbol, Sell_Magic))                     //if the position for this symbol already exists
     {
      if(m_Position.PositionType()==POSITION_TYPE_SELL)
        {
         if(m_Position.StopLoss() > iMA(_Symbol,PERIOD_CURRENT,20,0,MODE_SMA,PRICE_CLOSE))
               m_Trade.PositionModify(m_Position.Ticket(), iMA(_Symbol,PERIOD_CURRENT,20,0,MODE_SMA,PRICE_CLOSE), 0);
        }
     }

I'm trying as an example to make the SL move with a moving average.

It compiles fine and the EA runs but it never modifies any stop loss.

Any tips on what I'm doing wrong would be greatly appriciated!

Thanks

Draniage:

Hi Guys,

I'm fairly new to MQL5 as a language having mainly been coding with python and associated languages in my day to day work but I'm trying to learn MQL5.