MQL5 Economic Calendar / CalendarValueHistory in backtest - page 3

Enrique Dangeroux:
Do not use this code. It is very poorly written. There is a good library https://www.mql5.com/ru/code/32430 here.
I am not sure why you think it's a good library ? In my opinion it's equally "poorly written".

Hello Alain,

Unfortunately i got to the same conclusion. I am pretty new in MQL5 coding and very confused about all the curious error messages.

Meanwhile i have solved the error, mentioned in my post before. Nevertheless, when i am using the news.next Class. it doesnt show me the red line with the next upcoming news event  (in the backtester mode)

void OnTick()
  {

//int CNews::next(int pointer_start,string currency,bool show_on_chart,long chart_id)

news.next(0,_Symbol,true,ChartID());

}

Do you know something that works well?  Or can you help me with this issue?

Thank You!

Alain Verleyen:
I am not sure why you think it's a good library ? In my opinion it's equally "poorly written".

Because it works, is flexible and fast. 

Granted, saber has a style of coding not everybody likes. Personally i do not see any issues with the code.

Enrique Dangeroux:

Because it works, is flexible and fast. 

Granted, saber has a style of coding not everybody likes. Personally i do not see any issues with the code.

Gonna side with Alain on this one. It would have been nice to see a little less overloading.

Is this code correct?

int idx=news.next(0,"EUR",false,0); //will fetch next news from current time

datetime time = news.event[idx].time; //gets the time of the next news found above

int imp = news.event[idx].importance; // gets the importance of the next news found above

if(imp>=2 && (time-TimeTradeServer()>0 && time-TimeTradeServer()<=checknewsduration)) return true; //if news is importance medium and above, and is within nextnewsducartion(24), do not open new trades.