MetaTrader 5 Python User Group - the summary - page 16

amirhossein rahbari:

Hello dear friends ,

I am a beginner user in meta trader , I am so interested in using python API for my trading tasks,

but when I was trying to load all the symbols by 

symbols=mt5.symbols_get()

it return None as symbols but when I wrote in other script

rates = mt5.copy_rates_from("غسالم", mt5.TIMEFRAME_D1, utc_from)

it gives corresponding data to غسالم  and works well . 

because I want to trade on all symbols and filter them  it is mandatory to access their list but unfortunately the symbols_get is not working . please help me to find solution 

my broker  : Mofid

and symbols are written in Persian.

Your terminal needs to be upgraded to the latest beta version. Sign in to a MetaQuotes Demo account then go to Help>Check for updates. One thing to note is that the MetaTrader5 package will never raise an exception so you have to ask if there were any errors after operations by calling last_error(). If you want to use standard python conventions you can use the pymt5adapter instead so you can encapsulate your code in try: except...

import pymt5adapter as mta

def main():
    try:
        symbols = mta.symbols_get()
    except mta.MT5Error as e:
        print(e.error_code, e.description)
    else:
        print(f'First symbol is {symbols[0].name}')
    finally:
        print("Main finished")

if __name__ == '__main__':
    with mta.connected(raise_on_errors=True):
        main()

Thank you for adding the sys.argv feature! That's awesome and will definitely help with scripts that are dropped on the chart. Thanks for all the hard work making that happen. I am having an issue with the implentation, however. The values returned for the timeframes are unexpected. Instead of returning the timeframe const enum value, I am getting the equivalent of the number of minutes in the period. This is unexpected given the API has different values for the timeframes. Example:

import sys