Most frequent range of numbers in an array.

Hi,

I am totally new to programming and forgive me for my ignorance.
But I'm looking for code that can show me the most frequent range of numbers in an array.
Lets say there is an array with these values { 1 ,2 ,2 ,5 ,8 ,8 ,9 ,10} and the range is +-1..
 most frequent range of numbers would be 8-10.
My end result would be after inputting bar closing prices over specified period of time
 EA would display support or resistance lines.

Is this possible? Can anyone help please?

DanielsRUS:

Hi,

I am totally new to programming and forgive me for my ignorance.
But I'm looking for code that can show me the most frequent range of numbers in an array.
Lets say there is an array with these values { 1 ,2 ,2 ,5 ,8 ,8 ,9 ,10} and the range is +-1..
 most frequent range of numbers would be 8-10.
My end result would be after inputting bar closing prices over specified period of time
 EA would display support or resistance lines.

Is this possible? Can anyone help please?

Yes, obviously it is possible. It is just simple math! However, like everything in life, you have to develop the skills in order to do it.

In this case, you either have someone else do it for you, but then you don't really learn to develop your skills; or you you sit down and work out step by step how to implement it in code.

Learning to code is not something you do in one weekend. You have to study and practice, and to become a pro, requires years of that.

Just think about the steps:

1. You have to have another array where you keep track of a hit count or frequency of the elements being tested.
  2. As you run through you main array, you increment the count for that value in another array.
  3. In the end, you can evaluate the frequency array to find the highest counts, either by using a running comparison, or by first sorting it.

This is all basic coding skills, which you need to develop first, before you even attempt to code your own EAs.