Institutional vs Retail Trader indicator?

I recently came in contact with someone that claims to have an indicator that shows "major" vs "minor" trader activity. They say that the "majors" are likely banks and institutions and "minors" are retail investors. The indicator graphs two pairs of lines... one pair for majors and one pair for minors. Here is a screenshot:

Unfortunately, the indicator is closed source so I don't know how it works. But, I'd like to figure it out. I know that when I traded stocks years ago I could look at market depth and it showed what institutions were on the bid/ask. But this indicator works with all instruments, in all time frames, including Forex. I'm new to Forex, but my trading platform (MetraTrader 4) does not show what institutions are on the bid/ask using the "Depth of Market" windows.

So, I'm a bit skeptical about whether this indicator is really doing what they say it's doing. Any ideas on where they are getting this data?

spockdude:

So, I'm a bit skeptical about whether this indicator is really doing what they say it's doing. 

And so you should be ;-)

Spot FX and the various index/commodity CFDs that are traded in MT4 have no centralised market and hence, no depth of market as such. There is also no volume reported so it is also impossible to know if one tick equals someone trading 0.01 lots (eg a retail trader) or 100 lots (eg, institutional trader).

The closest things you will get are the weekly COT report (Commitment of Traders, released every Tuesday) or the various "Sentiment" indicators released by several of the large brokerages.