Backtesting/Optimization - page 77

landmeister:
Dear all,

This is my first contribution here because I'm a beginner, so please excuse me if this question is simply silly. I want to make some backtests on MT4 but I don't know if this platform takes into account ticks instead of candles. I'm trying a strategy in which what happens within 1 minute candle is fundamental. This means that backtesting by pips will be more accurate than by candles. Is this possible? If so, could someone please tell me how?

Thank you very much in advance.

Hi,

In simple terms MT4 can use ticks as well see the screen shot below.

go to the strategy tester and from "model" section choose ticks instead of open price or control price , choose the date , Symbol and press start!. Make sure you have enough history . You can search this forum for more info about back testing just use the forum search.

-guyver

Optimization - Why did it take me 3 years to find out about it?

Either I'm really dense or the information wasn't being talked about but I found a page saying how to use the optimization in Metatrader to test various settings in an expert. What it does would have taken me forever!

Check it out! The instruction page is here! Talk about making things easier?

Set the thing up and run it on all the time frames. Different time frames get different results.

easyexpertforex.com/

backtesting-optimization.

html

History Center

I need to old info on GBP/JPY. I go to History Center and download the 1m history. In C:\Program Files (x86)\FXDD - MetaTrader 4\history\downloads\GBPJPY, it downloads tons of information, all in .dat file format. However, I cannot figure out how to get it into the charts. Import has to be in TXT, CSV, or PM format. What am I missing?

mt4 strategy tester open two visual charts same time?

Is there a way of running strategy tester on mt4 and then clicking on 'open chart' and running it on visual mode? "Yes you can" I am hearing from everyone.