how to break a function and call next when condition becomes true for next

Hi,

I am brand new to MQL4 and this is my very 1st attempt at writing an EA. I have created two functions for trendLong and trendShort. If current bar's open is higher than daily open then it should open a long position and vice versa for short positions.

1- What I see is that it only opens long positions.

2- It does not check if condition to sell is now true.

3- It does not close a position when opposite condition becomes true.

I hope someone of you can help guide me through the learning process. 

Files:

Well, simply put the cursor on  OrderSelect(..) and press f1 - now read what OrderSelect returns and what true might be as an integer!

Carl Schreiber:
Well, simply put the cursor on  OrderSelect(..) and press f1 - now read what OrderSelect returns and what true might be as an integer!
Hi Carl. Thanks for your reply. I have gone through OrderSelect() multiple times and unable to figure out where am I making a mistake. Please guide.

extern double lot = 1.0;
extern int sl = 100;
extern int tp = 100;
extern int tf = 0;
extern int slippage = 5;

double DailyOpen     =   iOpen(NULL,PERIOD_D1,0);
double CurrentBar    =   iOpen(NULL,0,0);

You shouldn't assign values obtained from iOpen here; data might not be available yet.

bool trendLong()
  {
   if (CurrentBar > DailyOpen) return(true);
   else return(EMPTY_VALUE);
  }

A bool should return either true or false. Not EMPTY_VALUE, which is 2147483647, which will be interpreted as true.

The way you have written it, trendLong() always returns true. And so does trendShort().

void OnTick()
  {  
   if(trendLong() == true) ticket = OrderSelect(ticket,SELECT_BY_TICKET);
   if(OrdersTotal() != 0)
     {
      ticket = OrderClose(ticket,lot,Bid,slippage);
     }
   else
     {
      (OrderCloseTime() < CurrentBar);
       openBuy();
     }
   if (trendShort() == true)
   ticket = OrderSelect(ticket,SELECT_BY_TICKET);
   if (OrdersTotal() != 0)