New MetaTrader 4 Platform Build 500: Trading from Chart and Company's Web Site in the Client Terminal - page 6

Trevhib:

I'm not very technical but what I do know is that this latest build blocks MT4i's spread controller from working, which causes numerous testing headaches.  Not insurmountable problems but it's certainly made life more awkward and unnecessarily so. 

The following article appears to cover the reason why things like the spread controller no longer work in the latest update and if I understand it correctly, this is a big step in the wrong direction in my opinion:

http://www.forexbrokerz.com/news/forex-mt4-build-500-problem-consequences-automated-fx-trading 

Can anyone tell me, are they going the same route with MT5? 

From the start MT5 is more closed but also more complete. Coders have more possibilities within MQL5 but have to follow what MQ decided. For example you can't import or use your own data.

The article you provide the link is interesting, but it's only one side. The future will tell if MQ is right or wrong to eliminate third party tools for MT4.

Trevhib:

Hi Raptor. 

No, as I'm not a member of mql5.com.  However, FWIW I have just done what is necessary to log this request (i.e. register on that site and submit, #756174).  After years of users suffering this problem, if there haven't already been a raft of suggestions along the same lines I'll be stunned.  Anyway, I've asked for some insight as to why it's not been dealt with previously.

I'll provide any answer I receive on this thread.  

Well done 

Thanks guys.

For example in MT5 you can't import or use your own data." - whoa!  That would be a problem for us.  If a professional prop house in London says - prove that EA strategy to us using our data, then we'd be stuck.  Also, what would be the point of the generic download from the MQL5 site if you can't populate it with data from somewhere like DiskTrading for example?