why does my simple mql4 program not work as expected?

Hello,

I used to be a computerprogrammer but I am new in MQL4.

I wrote my first program, but several things do not work, here is the program:

int start()
  { int ticket=0;

if (Close[0] < Close[1] && Close[1] > Close[2] && Close[2] > Close[3]) 
       //  Go short

{    ticket=OrderSend(Symbol(),OP_SELL,1,Bid,3,High[0],((High[0] - Low[0])*2),"My short order",16384,0,Green);
                if (ticket < 0) MessageBox ("something went wrong with the order!");   
               ObjectCreate("Down", OBJ_ARROW, 0, TimeCurrent(), Close[0]);
               PlaySound("goshort!.wav");  

Sleep(120000);

}

if (Close[0] > Close[1] && Close[1] < Close[2] && Close[2] < Close[3])
        //  Go long
       {     ticket=OrderSend(Symbol(),OP_BUY,1,Ask,3,Low[0],((High[0] - Low[0])*2),"My long order",16384,0,Green);
             if (ticket < 0) MessageBox ("something went wrong with the order!");
            ObjectCreate("Down", OBJ_ARROW, 0, TimeCurrent(), Close[0]);
            PlaySound("golong!.wav");   

Sleep(120000);

}

//----

//----
   return(0);
  }

====

Problems:

1. the order is never being executed succesfully, why not?

2. the arrow is never being drawn, why not?

3. the strategy loses 100% of the trades when I test it with strategy tester (how is that even possible) ?

4. why is the order not being executed (in demo mode) but can i still backtest it?

5. I swear that sometimes I hear two times goshort or golong in less than two minutes, that is rare, but I swear it happened, and that should not be possible according to the code!

I hope somebody can help me....

Thanks in advance

Michael

Well, one obvious problem is Close[0]. There may be others, but start with that.

[0] is the current bar, so think about it, when it closes the new bar becomes the [0] bar......

So here's the first thing you need to do...

use

(Close[1] < Close[2] && Close[2] > Close[3] && Close[3] > Close[4])