Fibonacci EA - Newbie

Hi,

I am VERY new to MQL4 coding and have just been mucking around really, looking at some of the articles and the book on here to see what I can learn.

What I am trying to create is an expert advisor that opens trades based on fibonacci levels. I strategy is this:

In an downtrending market,

where the price retraces to enter the 'trade zone' (between the 38.2% and 61.8% fib levels) the EA waits starts looking for a trade,

Once this has happened I want the EA to open a sell trade when the price drops back down and a canlde closes below the 75% fib level

The stoploss should be set above the 0% say 20 pips (although ideally this pip level would be adjustable)

The takeprofit set at about 50 pips (although also adjustable)

In an uptrending market it should open a buy order but with the same entry criteria

I have tried, and I am in no way under the belief that what I have done is even close to correct but the attempt is attached.

I also have not included anything in this attempt with regard to determining and up or down trend. i made a parameter 'higher_to_lower' so that this could just be changed from true to false depending on whether the trader thinks the market is trending up or down.

I think that I may be close to getting the EA to calculate the fib levels but beyond this i was really just copying from an example in the MQL4 book with regard to opening and closing, modifying what i thought needed to be changed to fit and leaving the rest.

Like I said this is a first, and presumably horrible attempt and I dont necessarily expect anyone to help out but I thought it wouldnt hurt to ask. any advice at all would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance

-Andrew

Files:
fibs_2.mq4  11 kb

abaillie wrote >>

Hi,

I am VERY new to MQL4 coding and have just been mucking around really, looking at some of the articles and the book on here to see what I can learn.