files mq4

Hi Everyone!

I am new to Forex, and a lot to learn ahead of me. Can someone please help me with some basic here. I cant open files mq4. This seems to be essential for EA trading. Thank U a lot.

Anna

annanaforexie wrote >>

Hi Everyone!

I am new to Forex, and a lot to learn ahead of me. Can someone please help me with some basic here. I cant open files mq4. This seems to be essential for EA trading. Thank U a lot.

Anna

Hi Anna,

For basic information on Forex here's a good place to start:

http://www.babypips.com/school/

An mq4 file is an Expert Advisor (EA), which is a fancy name for code that does your trading for you if you don't want to do it the good ol' fashion way (manual trade entry and exit). You need to understand manual trading before you dive into EA's, but here's a link that will help explain the basics of how an EA works:

'Expert Advisors Based on Popular Trading Systems and Alchemy of Trading Robot Optimization'

Hope this helps,

Tovan

Hi Again,

It just occured to me that I never really answered your direct question in all my rambling. So here's how you open an mq4 file:

From MetaTrader click on the MetaEditor button - this is a yellow diamond with an exclamation mark in it - on the tool bar.

In MetaEditor you can open mq4 files from the file open menu or open directly from the Navigator window, which opens on the right side of the main window by default.

MetaEditor is the code compiler and editing tool for MetaTrader EA's, Indicators, Scripts, Libraries, etc.

Good Luck,

Tovan

annanaforexie wrote >>

Hi Everyone!

Anna

tovan is correct.