How to detect a new bar

Hi All,

I'm a complete newbie to MQL5 but I've done a fair bit of coding for other platforms.

I'm wondering why it is so difficult for an EA to execute only on a new bar. I've had a look at some of the articles, including the "new bar" event handler, and it seems very difficult. 

If that won't work and I have to use the "new bar" event handler, is it possible to just donwload the relevant files and copy them to the Files(?) folder, and then #include them? Is there anywhere where this is documented for people like me who basically have no idea what they are doing?

I'm working through the tutorial in https://www.mql5.com/en/articles/100, and the first thing I noticed was that the "Bars" function is used to ensure there are enough bars to perform calculations on, but the next piece of code is apparently designed to detect a new bar and is (to my understanding anyway) a very complex piece of code. Couldn't the Bars function be used to detect a new Bar? Something like if(Bars > int LastBarCount) {bool IsNewBar = true; LastBarCount = Bars;} else {IsNewBar = false;}. Would something like that work?.

One for the wishlist. Wouldn't it be good if there was an OnNewBar event that we could override, instead of OnTick? Since every indicator I've ever seen works on bars, not ticks, I think it would make everybody's lives a lot easier.

Just found another possibility: "BarsCalculated". Again not entirely sure what this means from the description but it looks like the number of bars that the EA has processed already. If that were true then all I would need to check is if(Bars > BarsCalculated), if true then go and do my processing, otherwise return? Am I missing something?

Thanks,

Ian

Step-By-Step Guide to writing an Expert Advisor in MQL5 for Beginners
  • Samuel
  • www.mql5.com