Can you close a position while the market is closed ?

Hi everyone,

I'm quite new to Metatrader 4 and trading in general.
Could someone help me answer this question please? - If I close or change (SL/TP) an open trade while the market is closed during the weekend, will ''the order'' take effect as soon as the market opens on Monday ?

Thanks for your help!

ArthurDen:

Hi everyone,

I'm quite new to Metatrader 4 and trading in general.
Could someone help me answer this question please? - If I close or change (SL/TP) an open trade while the market is closed during the weekend, will ''the order'' take effect as soon as the market opens on Monday ?

Thanks for your help!

You can't close while the Market is closed unless your Broker offers that as a special feature of their service . . .  Buys close at Bid, Sells close at Ask,  there is no current Bid and Ask just the last values from Friday and they will not be valid once the markets open.  Do you have guaranteed stops with your Broker ?

No, no guaranteed stops. But isn't there a way to make metatrader 4 to close the position as soon as the markets open (at what ever bid/ask they open) without doing it manually there and then?

Thanks again!

Yes. By using EA.

ArthurDen:
No, no guaranteed stops. But isn't there a way to make metatrader 4 to close the position as soon as the markets open (at what ever bid/ask they open) without doing it manually there and then?

Thanks again!

Hi ArthurDen,

You could probably write an Expert Advisor to close all trades when IsTradeAllowed = True, attach it to the chart you want the positions to close, and make sure MT4 is open and online when the market opens. This should loop through your orders and try close your position at the earliest possible time. 

If you are using this method, remember to detach your EA once you are done or all your future trades will be closed immediately when opened. 

Cheers!

Yeile:

Hi ArthurDen,